How to choose a Bitcoin exchange.

READ12 min·UPDATED·APPLIES TOUnited States·LEVELBeginner
For new buyers picking a Bitcoin exchange. Sources are listed at the bottom of the page; check their dates before acting.

An exchange is an on-ramp, not a vault. Judge it by what it costs to turn dollars into Bitcoin, how cleanly it lets that Bitcoin leave for a wallet you control, and how much risk you carry while coins sit on the platform. Rankings go stale within months. The criteria below do not.

This page is editorial. The framing assumes you intend to self-custody after purchase rather than leave Bitcoin on an exchange. No exchange pays this site, and there are no affiliate links here.

This page is written for US buyers. Licensing lookups and tax reporting differ outside the US; for Bitcoin-only on-ramps in Europe, Canada and the UK, see the community directory listed under where to compare.

Short answer

Pick a platform that is licensed where you live, shows its full cost (fee plus spreadSpreadThe gap between two prices or rates. In trading, it is the difference between the price buyers pay (ask) and the price sellers get (bid). Many Bitcoin apps and money-transfer services also build a markup into the price they quote you, a cost on top of the advertised fee even when that fee is $0.Full definition) before you confirm, lets you withdraw to your own wallet without friction, and does not push altcoins, yield products or leverage. Then use it only as a pipe: buy, withdraw to self-custody, repeat. No license, audit or reserve report turns an exchange balance into Bitcoin you hold yourself.

On this page
  1. How to choose: the short checklist
  2. Is the exchange licensed and registered?
  3. Who holds the coins, and can the exchange prove reserves?
  4. What does a buy actually cost?
  5. How easy is it to withdraw to self-custody?
  6. What account security should you expect?
  7. What does KYC mean for your privacy?
  8. Bitcoin-only or a multi-coin platform?
  9. How will you fund the account?
  10. Where to compare current fees and features
  11. Common questions

How to choose: the short checklist

  1. Licensing: look the company up in NMLS Consumer Access for your state and in FinCEN's MSB registrant search before you send money.
  2. Custody and reserves: know who holds the coins while they sit on the platform, and whether the company publishes reserve figures. Plan to withdraw regardless.
  3. All-in cost: compare fee plus spread for the order type you will actually use. One-time buys and recurring buys are often priced differently.
  4. Withdrawals: confirm on-chain withdrawal to your own address is supported, what it costs, any minimums and holds, and whether automatic withdrawal is offered.
  5. Security: prefer platforms that support hardware security keys or an authenticator app over SMS codes, plus withdrawal-address allowlisting.
  6. KYC and privacy: every licensed US platform ties your purchases to your identity and reports sales to the IRS. Decide how much of your stack you want linked to that record.
  7. Product focus: Bitcoin-only platforms have no token menu to upsell. Multi-asset platforms put hundreds of other coins one tap away.
  8. Funding: check which methods (bank transfer, wire, debit card, paycheck deposit) are supported and how each changes fees and withdrawal holds.

Is the exchange licensed and registered?

US platforms that buy and sell Bitcoin for customers fall under money services business rules. FinCEN's 2019 guidance explains how those rules apply to businesses that exchange or transmit convertible virtual currency, and the Bank Secrecy Act is the reason every one of them asks for your legal name, address, date of birth, Social Security number and photo ID ×DON'T TRUST, VERIFYClaim: US-regulated exchanges require KYC for Bitcoin purchases under the Bank Secrecy Act and FinCEN's money services business rules, which FinCEN applies to convertible virtual currency businesses.Verify at: FinCEN FIN-2019-G001 ↗ · Bank Secrecy Act, 31 USC 5311 ↗ · FinCEN MSB registrant search ↗ Source 1 in the list belowMoney services businesses registered with FinCEN must run AML and customer-identification controls. FinCEN's 2019 guidance applies those regulations to convertible virtual currency business models. Links checked 2026-09-26..[1][2][3]

Two lookups take five minutes. FinCEN's MSB registrant search shows whether a company has filed its federal registration. NMLS Consumer Access is the state side: it describes itself as a free service to confirm that a financial-services company "is authorized to conduct business in their state," and it covers money services companies licensed by participating state regulators. Search the legal entity name from the platform's terms of service, not the app's brand name.[2][4]

New York adds its own layer. The Department of Financial Services publishes a table of entities authorized for virtual currency business in the state, with license type and date granted. As of 2026-09-26 it listed, among others, Coinbase, Inc. and Block, Inc. (Cash App's parent). A license tells you a regulator authorized the company to operate. It does not tell you the company is solvent, which is the next question.[5]

Who holds the coins, and can the exchange prove reserves?

Bitcoin left on an exchange is a claim on a company, not coins under your keys. FTX is the reference case: the SEC charged its founder with diverting customer funds to his trading firm while telling investors the platform was safe.[6] Not your keys, not your coins.

Some platforms publish proof-of-reserves figures. Example, as of the September 01, 2026 proof shown on River's page: 33,737.54 BTC in assets against 33,498.71 BTC in client liabilities.[7] Treat that kind of disclosure as a minimum screen, not a guarantee. The PCAOB's investor advocate warned in March 2023 that proof-of-reserve engagements "are not audits," cover a single moment in time, and "do not provide any meaningful assurance" that customer assets are protected.[8]

Also check what custody options the platform itself offers. Swan's pricing page, for example, lists self-custody at $0, collaborative multisig with Swan holding one key, and a "Swan Safe" option where a regulated custodian holds the keys (as of 2026-09-26).[9] Only the first puts the keys in your hands. See custody levels for what to use at each stack size.

What does a buy actually cost?

The all-in cost has two parts: the stated fee and the spread, the markup built into the quoted price. River's fee page says its price "may include a spread," Coinbase includes a spread in simple buy quotes and shows it on the preview screen, and Cash App states its spread may run from 0% to 0.75% depending on market conditions.[10][11][12] The reliable test is the confirmation screen: compare the total dollars against the Bitcoin you receive, and check that price against a public market price at the same moment.

Order type matters as much as platform. Several platforms price recurring buys (DCADollar-cost averaging (DCA)Investing a fixed amount on a regular schedule, such as $50 every payday, regardless of price. It spreads out when money enters the market and buys more units when prices are low, but it does not guarantee a better price than investing all at once, a profit or protection against loss.Full definition) differently from one-time buys, and some change the rate with order size. Coinbase says its fees can depend on payment method, order size and market conditions, and that it occasionally tests fee and spread changes.[11] Price the order you will actually place, at the size you will actually place it.

DATED SNAPSHOT: CHECKED ON 2026-09-26; CONFIRM ON EACH PROVIDER'S FEE PAGE

An example of how published pricing differs, not a ranking. Rows are limited to fee pages opened on 2026-09-26.

PLATFORM ONE-TIME BUY FEE RECURRING BUY FEE SPREAD BTC WITHDRAWAL
River[10] 1.00% up to $1,000,000, tiered down to 0.25% above $15,000,000 0% starting seven days after the order is set up; the first order pays the standard fee Price "may include a spread" Not stated on the fee page checked
Swan[9] 1% on buys; no buy fee on a new client's first $250 1% (no separate recurring rate listed) Not stated on the pricing page $0; optional automatic withdrawals
Cash App[12] 2.0% ($1 to $499), 1.5% ($500 to $999), 0.9% ($1,000 to $1,999), 0% ($2,000+) 0% fee and zero spread on Auto Invest, Round Ups and paycheck deposits 0% to 0.75% on market buys No fee at standard speed
Coinbase[11] No single published rate; shown in the trade preview Shown in the trade preview Included in simple buy quotes; none on Coinbase Advanced (order book) Not checked on this date; see the withdrawal guide

Strike's fee pages blocked automated access on 2026-09-26, so Strike is not in this snapshot (not verified). Kraken and other platforms were not checked on this date. Fees and features change without notice.

Stated cost of a $600 Bitcoin buy, by order type (checked 2026-09-26)
River, recurringFrom day 8 of the order
0% fee
Cash App, Auto InvestRecurring
0% fee, zero spread
River, one-timeSpread may apply
1.00%
Swan, any buyFlat fee
1%
Cash App, one-time$500 to $999 tier
1.5%+0.75%
0% of the buy2.5%
Stated feeMaximum disclosed spread (0% to 0.75%)
A dated snapshot, not a ranking. Bars are drawn to scale from each provider's fee page as checked on 2026-09-26. Recurring buys on River (after the first seven days) and Cash App's Auto Invest carry no stated fee; Swan charges the same 1% on every buy. River does not quantify its spread on the fee page, so none is drawn. Coinbase is omitted because it shows its fee in the trade preview rather than publishing a fixed rate.

How easy is it to withdraw to self-custody?

This is the criterion that separates an on-ramp from a trap. Check four things before funding an account: that on-chainon-chainA Bitcoin payment recorded directly and permanently on Bitcoin's main public ledger, settled by the network itself rather than through a faster off-network lane.Full definition withdrawal to an external address is supported at all, what it costs, what minimum applies, and what holds apply to new addresses or recently deposited cash.

Automatic withdrawal is a strong signal that a platform expects you to leave. Swan, for example, lets clients set withdrawals once a week or when a balance crosses a threshold, and waives its Swan Safe custody fee when auto-withdrawals are on (as of 2026-09-26).[9] Cash App lists no fee for standard-speed withdrawals that complete in 24 hours or less, plus a minimum withdrawal amount on its fee page.[12]

Whatever the platform, verify the receive address on your hardware wallet's own screen and send a small test first. The withdrawal guide walks through the exact steps, fees and holds, and how to buy Bitcoin covers the end-to-end flow.

What account security should you expect?

Your exchange login guards your bank link and every coin not yet withdrawn. CISA ranks FIDO/WebAuthn security keys as the strongest form of multi-factor authentication, app-based codes next, and SMS or voice codes as a last resort because of SIM-swap and phone-network attacks.[13] Prefer a platform that supports a hardware security key, and switch off SMS where the platform lets you.

Withdrawal-address allowlisting is the second feature to look for. On Coinbase, for example, allowlisting limits sends to addresses in your address book, requires 2-step verification to change, and makes a newly added address usable only after 48 hours (as of 2026-09-26).[14] That delay is friction for a thief, not for a patient stacker.

What does KYC mean for your privacy?

Licensed US platforms collect legal name, address, date of birth, Social Security number and government photo ID, and larger accounts can be asked for employment and source-of-funds details. That is the KYCKnow Your Customer (KYC)Identity checks that banks, brokers and regulated Bitcoin exchanges must run under anti-money-laundering rules, collecting your name, address, date of birth, an ID number and often a photo ID. Buying through a KYC exchange links your identity to the bitcoin you buy and the addresses you withdraw it to.Full definition baseline under the Bank Secrecy Act, so it is not a point of difference between licensed platforms.[1][3]

Exchanges also report to the IRS. Brokers file Form 1099-DA for digital asset sales: gross proceeds for sales in 2025, and from 2026 also cost basis for digital assets that are covered securities (generally those acquired after 2025 and held in the same custodial account until sold).[15][16][17] Coins withdrawn from a KYC platform stay linked to your identity on the platform's records after they leave; label them by source in your wallet.

For privacy beyond what KYC platforms allow, see the Bitcoin privacy guide. Non-KYC paths exist (peer-to-peer, mining), each with its own tradeoffs.

Bitcoin-only or a multi-coin platform?

A multi-asset exchange puts hundreds of tokens, yield offers and leveraged products one tap from your Bitcoin buy. None of that benefits a buyer whose plan is to accumulate Bitcoin and withdraw it. Every extra product is another prompt to trade, and trading is where fees and mistakes compound.

A Bitcoin-only platform removes the altcoin casino from the screen. To confirm a platform's focus, read its asset list rather than its marketing. The bitcoin-only.com directory, for example, lists a project only if it supports Bitcoin and does not support altcoins.[18] Bitcoin-only is a filter, not a safety rating: the licensing, custody and withdrawal checks above still apply.

How will you fund the account?

Bank transfer (ACH), wire, debit card and paycheck deposit are the common routes, and the method can change both price and timing. Coinbase lists payment method among the factors that set its fee.[11] River offered free automatic conversion of payroll deposits up to $30,000 per account title per month as of 2026-09-26, with regular fees above that.[10]

Funding method also affects how soon coins can leave. Platforms commonly hold Bitcoin bought with cash that has not finished settling; the withdrawal guide documents the hold policies of two large exchanges. A hold of a few days is a policy to read before you buy. A platform that will not let you withdraw at all is not an on-ramp.

Where to compare current fees and features

No list stays current, and no comparison is complete. Start with the official lookups, then read each provider's own fee page. All pages below were opened on 2026-09-26.

Official and first-party sources (use these for final verification)

  • NMLS Consumer Access: official state licensing system. Search a company by name or NMLS ID to see which state licenses it holds. Covers regulators participating in NMLS only; not a solvency check.
  • FinCEN MSB Registrant Search: official federal registration list for money services businesses. Registration is a filing, not a state license.
  • NYDFS regulated virtual currency entities: official list for New York, with license type and date granted. Relevant mainly to New York residents.
  • CFPB Consumer Complaint Database: official database of complaints consumers filed about financial companies. Complaints are unverified accounts, and volume tracks company size, so read them for patterns rather than counts.
  • Provider fee pages (first-party, written by the companies themselves): River fees (page shows "Updated" August 06, 2026) · Swan pricing (no date shown) · Cash App bitcoin fees (no date shown; its "Other Exchanges" column is Cash App's own marketing comparison) · Coinbase pricing and fees disclosures.
  • River proof of reserves: an example of a first-party reserve disclosure with monthly figures. Self-published; read it with the PCAOB caveat above.

Community directory

  • bitcoin-only.com: Get Bitcoin: a community-maintained list of Bitcoin-only on-ramps, including non-KYC options and KYC platforms outside the US. Listings are suggested through a public GitHub repository. No affiliate disclosure or referral codes were visible on the page on 2026-09-26, and the page shows no update date. US coverage is thin, and the list is not a vetting of licensing or solvency.

Fees and terms change. Use these resources to compare options, then confirm the current fees, spreads, eligibility, and licensing details directly with the exchange.

Common questions

Which exchange has the lowest total cost over time?

It depends on the order type and size you use, and pricing changes. For steady accumulation, look for platforms that waive fees on recurring buys and do not add a spread to them, then check the confirmation screen on your first few buys. In the 2026-09-26 snapshot above, River and Cash App listed 0% fees on recurring buys and Swan listed a flat 1% on every buy.

Is leaving Bitcoin on an exchange safe?

It is a counterparty risk that licensing and reserve reports reduce but do not remove. FTX customers learned that when customer funds were diverted, and the PCAOB has warned that proof-of-reserve reports are not audits. Not your keys, not your coins. The default for any holding above what you plan to spend soon is to withdraw to a hardware wallet.

Can you use a non-US exchange instead?

Many non-US platforms exclude US residents in their terms. If one accepts you, check whether it holds a license in your state through NMLS Consumer Access; an unlicensed platform leaves you outside the state regulator's reach. Your US tax reporting follows you whichever platform you use.

What about Bitcoin ETFs as an alternative?

Spot Bitcoin ETFsExchange-Traded Fund (ETF)A basket of investments (stocks, bonds, or Bitcoin) that trades on a stock exchange like a single share. (IBIT, FBTC) trade through any normal US brokerage. They are simpler than exchange plus self-custody but cannot be withdrawn to your own keys. See IBIT vs FBTC and ETF vs self-custody.

Can you use multiple exchanges at once?

Yes. A common pattern is one platform for the recurring buy and another for Lightning payments or as a backup if the first freezes an account. The complication is cost basiscost basisWhat you originally paid for an asset. Used to calculate how much profit (or loss) you made when you sell.Full definition: IRS rules apply basis identification wallet by wallet (account by account) for digital assets acquired or disposed of from January 1, 2025. See Bitcoin cost basis.[19]

Where to go from here

Do next

How to Buy Bitcoin Safely

Walk through the first purchase, recurring buys and the move to a hardware wallet.

Read next

Is Your Exchange Safe

What an exchange balance really is, what proof of reserves proves, and what happens in a bankruptcy.

Explore further

Sources

Bracketed numbers and verify badges in the text link to these sources. Figures, rates and rules change: check each source’s date before acting on it.

  1. FinCEN, FIN-2019-G001: Application of FinCEN's Regulations to Certain Business Models Involving Convertible Virtual Currencies (May 9, 2019) · fincen.gov ↩
  2. FinCEN, MSB Registrant Search · fincen.gov. Checked 2026-09-26. ↩
  3. Bank Secrecy Act, 31 USC 5311 et seq. · law.cornell.edu ↩
  4. NMLS Consumer Access · nmlsconsumeraccess.org. Checked 2026-09-26. ↩
  5. New York Department of Financial Services, Virtual Currency Businesses: regulated entities · dfs.ny.gov. Checked 2026-09-26. ↩
  6. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, press release 2022-219 (charges against Samuel Bankman-Fried) · sec.gov ↩
  7. River, Proof of Reserves (first-party disclosure) · river.com. Figures as displayed 2026-09-26. ↩
  8. PCAOB Office of the Investor Advocate, Investor Advisory: Exercise Caution With Third-Party Verification/Proof of Reserve Reports (March 8, 2023) · pcaobus.org ↩
  9. Swan Bitcoin, Fees (no date shown) · swanbitcoin.com. Checked 2026-09-26. ↩
  10. River Help Center, What are River's fees? (page shows updated August 06, 2026) · support.river.com. Checked 2026-09-26. ↩
  11. Coinbase Help, Pricing and fees disclosures · help.coinbase.com. Checked 2026-09-26. ↩
  12. Cash App, Bitcoin fees (no date shown) · cash.app. Checked 2026-09-26. ↩
  13. CISA, Implementing Phishing-Resistant MFA (fact sheet) · cisa.gov ↩
  14. Coinbase Help, Address book allowlist · help.coinbase.com. Checked 2026-09-26. ↩
  15. Internal Revenue Service, About Form 1099-DA, Digital Asset Proceeds From Broker Transactions (last reviewed or updated June 27, 2026) · irs.gov ↩
  16. Internal Revenue Service, Instructions for Form 1099-DA (last reviewed or updated April 30, 2026) · irs.gov. Checked 2026-09-26. ↩
  17. Internal Revenue Service, Digital assets (last reviewed or updated September 2, 2026) · irs.gov. Checked 2026-09-26. ↩
  18. bitcoin-only.com, Get Bitcoin and Listing Requirements (community directory; no date shown) · bitcoin-only.com. Checked 2026-09-26. ↩
  19. Internal Revenue Service, Rev. Proc. 2024-28: allocating basis in digital assets to wallets or accounts as of January 1, 2025 · irs.gov ↩
  20. Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (Public Law 117-58), section 80603 broker reporting provisions, as cited in Rev. Proc. 2024-28 · congress.gov (not re-verified 2026-09-26; the site blocked automated access)
  21. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Consumer Complaint Database · consumerfinance.gov. Checked 2026-09-26.

Last updated . Not financial advice. Do your own research. Disclosures · How pages are reviewed

Subscribe via RSS for new articles.